© 2024 WRTI
Your Classical and Jazz Source. Celebrating 75 Years!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Dee Alexander's Funkin' With Electric Soul: Live In Chicago

It started as a bongo beat — a nod to James Brown, just after his death in late 2006. Then came a few signature riffs. And an ecstatic response from the crowd. Before long, the Godfather of Soul was permanently embedded in the Evolution Ensemble's repertoire. For leader Dee Alexander, a powerful and versatile vocalist, it was all part of the same continuum — as was the music of Jimi Hendrix, whose music carried the same revolutionary weight. Commissioned by the Jazz Institute of Chicago, Alexander and the expanded Evolution Arkestra sing the body electric in a free program on the city's south side.

Set List

  • "The Star-Spangled Banner"
  • "Little Wing"
  • "Who Knows"
  • "Fire"
  • "Purple Haze"
  • "If Six Was Nine"
  • "Hey Joe"
  • "Auld Lang Syne"
  • Personnel

  • Dee Alexander, voice
  • Miguel de la Cerna, piano
  • Tomeka Reid, cello
  • Harrison Bankhead,bass
  • Junius Paul, bass
  • Scott Hesse, guitar
  • Yusef Ernie Adams, percussion
  • Credits

    Timothy Powell/Metro Mobile Recording, recording and mix engineer; Dayna Calderón, field producer. Recorded at South Shore Cultural Center, Dec. 7, 2012. Special thanks to the Jazz Institute of Chicago and the Chicago Park District.

    Copyright 2015 WBGO