© 2024 WRTI
Your Classical and Jazz Source. Celebrating 75 Years!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Jaleel Shaw Quartet: Live At Berklee

Alto saxophonist Jaleel Shaw keeps good company. He tours with Roy Haynes, the living legend of jazz drums. He grew up in the Philadelphia music community, where new creative ferment in black pop music abutted multiple generations of jazz elders. He knows the music of Charles Mingus quite well from playing in the Mingus Big Band. And, clearly, his company likes having him around: He's become one of the most in-demand players in New York.

Shaw returns to his alma mater, Berklee College of Music, for this installment of The Checkout: Live. WBGO and NPR Music presented a live radio broadcast and video webcast of the Jaleel Shaw Quartet at Boston's Cafe 939. For the full concert archive of this series, visit npr.org/checkoutlive.

Set List

All compositions by Jaleel Shaw.

  • "I Wish I Didn't Know"
  • "Chromo"
  • "Muna's Sleeping"
  • "Faith" [video highlight]
  • "The Heavyweight Champion"
  • Personnel

  • Jaleel Shaw, alto saxophone
  • Lawrence Fields, piano
  • Boris Kozlov, bass
  • Johnathan Blake, drums
  • Credits

    Producer and Host: Josh Jackson; Audio Engineer: David Tallacksen. Recorded Feb. 7, 2013 at Berklee College of Music in Boston, Mass. Photo courtesy of Michael Borgida/Berklee College of Music.

    Copyright 2013 WBGO