© 2024 WRTI
Your Classical and Jazz Source. Celebrating 75 Years!
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

LIVE Tonight from Carnegie Hall on WRTI.org: Berlin Philharmonic, Rattle, Mutter, Rachmaninoff

Can't make it to NYC tonight to hear the Carnegie Hall Opening Night Gala performance? No problem! You'll be there with WRTI. Right here on WRTI.org, tonight at 7 pm, you're in a for a huge treat! It's a live audio performance by the legendary Berlin Philharmonic conducted by Sir Simon Rattle with the dazzling German violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter.

Violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter

Get ready to hear late-Russian Romantic works: Rachmaninoff's Symphonic Dances and scenes from Stravinsky's The Firebird — along with Bruch's Violin Concerto No.1

Click here at 7 pm on October 1st for the live audio performance from Carnegie Hall.


(Calling all night owls! On Thursday, October 2nd at 11 pm, we'll feature a live audio performance of Gustavo Dudamel leading the LA Phil in Mahler's 5th symphony on WRTI.org)

More about the program:

Tonight’s concert features three masterworks in the Romantic tradition: a virtuosic violin concerto from the mid-19th century and two Russian works from the 20th.

Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1 represents the lyricism, spontaneity, and organic structure we immediately associate with the Romantic sensibility.

Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances and the final scenes from Stravinsky’s Firebird demonstrate the unusual, often spectacular things that can happen when a 19th-century aesthetic is thrown into a 20th-century context and powered by a modern orchestra.

Completed in 1910, The Firebird is Stravinsky’s resplendent goodbye to the Rimsky-Korsakov tradition of his youth before his plunge into the modernism of Petrushka and The Rite of Spring, though premonitions of both these ballets can be found in the rhythmic and harmonic innovations of The Firebird’s final pages. I

n the haunting nostalgia of the Symphonic Dances, from 30 years later, Rachmaninoff demonstrates his unbending loyalty to 19th-century Russian sensibility. Indeed, the Symphonic Dances are arguably the last authentic Romantic work in the Russian symphonic tradition.