© 2022 WRTI
Your Classical and Jazz Source
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
WRTI Spotlight

A Feast for Organ and Brass: The Philadelphians on WRTI, Oct. 12th, 1 PM

What a program! It's a re-broadcast of The Philadelphia Orchestra in Concert on WRTI, Sunday, October 12th at 1 pm. The Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ and organist Michael Stairs are two of the biggest stars in a firmament of many! Philadelphia Orchestra Music Director Yannick Nézet-Séguin had to withdraw from this performance in March, but it brought conductor Alain Altinoglu to Verizon Hall at Yannick’s recommendation, and was he ever in his element!

Soprano Susanna Phillips speaks with WRTI's Jim Cotter about singing Faure's Requiem.

The Orchestra’s multi-season exploration of the great requiems continued with Fauré’s intimate and contemplative work. Its distinctive orchestration of lower strings is the centerpiece of a spiritual program featuring unique combinations and ensembles in styles ranging from Medieval chant to antiphonal brass to Brazilian rhythms.

Gabrieli’s Canzon septimi toni, No. 2, from Sacrae symphoniae, Franck's Organ Chorale No. 1 in E Major, Villa-Lobos' Bachianas brasileiras No. 5, Paul Dukas' Fanfare from La Péri, and Gabriel Fauré’s incredible Requiem, Op. 48 are all on this exciting program.

The Philadelphians are joined by organist Michael Stairs, soprano Susanna Phillips, bass-baritone Philippe Sly, and The Philadelphia Singers Chorale!

At intermission, WRTI's Jim Cotter speaks with Susanna Phillips, and WRTI's Susan Lewis goes backstage with Maestro Altinoglu. Gregg Whiteside is producer and host.

That's The Philadelphia Orchestra In Concert on WRTI 90.1 FM and online at wrti.org, Sunday, October 12th, from 1 to 3 pm. Join us! This broadcast is underwritten by Bryn Mawr Trust Wealth Management.

Detailed program notes

Gabrieli: Canzon septimi toni, No. 2, from Sacrae symphoniae
Franck: Organ Chorale No. 1 in E major
Villa-Lobos: Bachianas brasileiras No. 5
Dukas: Fanfare from La Péri
Fauré: Requiem, Op. 48

Alain Altinoglu, conductor

Michael Stairs, organ

Susanna Phillips, soprano

Phillipe Sly, bass-baritone

The Philadelphia Orchestra and The Philadelphia Singers Chorale